PhD Alumni

mostafa_bedewy_320x200 Dr. Mostafa Bedewy
Thesis Title: Collective Mechanochemical Growth of Carbon Nanotubes
Defended: November 2013
Subsequent Position: Postdoctoral Fellow at MIT
Davor_Small Davor Copic
Thesis Title: Fabrication of Polymer and Nanocomposite Microstructures and Microactuators by Capillary Infiltration and Replica Modeling
Defended: September 2013
Subsequent Position: Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Cambridge
Erik Polsen Dr. Erik Polsen
Thesis Title: Robust synthesis and continuous manufacturing of carbon nanotube forests and graphene films
Defended: March 2013
Subsequent Position: Program Manager, Automated Armor Manufacturing ManTech Program, US Army Tank-Automotive Research Development and Engineering Center (TARDEC)
Dr. Eric R. Meshot
Thesis Title: Dynamics and Limiting Mechanisms of Self-Aligned Carbon Nanotube Growth
Defended: December 2011
Subsequent Position: BAEF Postdoctoral Fellow at IMEC, Belgiums
Current Position: Postdoctoral Fellow, Physical and Life Sciences Directorate, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Dr. Sameh Tawfick
Thesis Title: Mechanocapillary Forming of Filamentary Materials
Defended: November 2011
Subsequent Position: Postdoctoral Fellow in Mechanosynthesis
Current Position: Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, UIUC
kendall copy Dr. Kendall Teichert
Thesis Title:
Subsequent Position:


PostDoc Alumni

Aaron Aaron Schmidt
Associate Professor
Boston University
Myounggu Park Myounggu Park 2007-2008
Yongyi Yongyi Zhang
Associate Professor SiNano
Chinese Academy of Sciences
viswa Viswanath Balakrishnan
Assistant Professor
IIT Mandi
Dan_Small Dan McNerny
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of Michigan
assaf Assaf Ya’akobovitz
Postdoctoral Fellow
Weizmann Institute of Science
michael Micheal DeVolder
Assistant Professor
University of Cambridge


Master’s Alumni

justin Justin Beroz
Precision Manipulation of Micro-Scale Liquid Volumes
anna Anna Brieland-Shoultz
Mechanics of Carbon Nanotube Composite Micropillars and Metal Thin Films for Graphene Growth
Anand Anand Nageswaran Barath
Experimental Investigation of Gas Flow through Carbon Nanotube Forests
seijin Sei-Jin Park
Control and Measurement of Capillary Forming of 3-Dimensional Carbon Nanotube Microstructures



Graduate Level Research Alumni

sangwoo Sangwoo Han 2008
Anne Anne Juggernauth 2009-2010
Fabrice Laye Fabrice Laye 2011-2013
Yuki Matsuoka
Summer Intern
jong Jong G. Ok 2007-2009
Georges Georges Pavlidis 2012
Tom Serbowicz Tom Serbowicz 2011
Kaushik Subramanian 2008
Masaki Watanabe
Summer Intern



NNIN Summer Research Undergraduate Alumni

Michael Bellavia 2012
Alex Hryn 2009
Matthew Diasio 2011
Michael Moebius 2008
Sibu Kuruvilla 2010


Undergraduates and Other Researchers

Abigail Nalbandian Jeremy Ng
Adam Stevens Jingjie Hu
Anthony Mark John Taphouse
Bryan Yamasaki Keval Patel
Chris Parmer Kevin Lyons
Daniel Cheng Levon Cimonian
Daniel Nees Michael Reinker
Danny Vidaud Neil Patel
David Mui Peter Diehr
Gary Marx Sheng Jiang
Homayoon (Amir) Maghsoodi Steve Perkins
Ilias Anagnostopoulos Politis Suraj Jaipalli
Thomas Fick